Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «deep sleep feature , remember position of apps before display goes into deep sleep » on forum: Feature Requests   Views: 1056
 
pureehatred
Registered user
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 17.04.2020
Posted: 31.07.2022 17:23:30
 
 
Hi,

Couldn't find anything related to this, would be nice to have feature to remember position of apps before screen goes into deep sleep, and once it gets connected back, to restore its position.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 10.08.2022 19:30:15
 
 
Hello, pureehatred

Thank you for contacting us.

Quote
would be nice to have feature to remember position of apps before screen goes into deep sleep, and once it gets connected back, to restore its position.
The "Bind the layout to the desktop geometry" feature should let you accomplish this (Actual Tools program configuration module > Layout and Snap > Windows Layout > Bind the layout...). Have you tried to use it?

Although, it may not work correctly if the disabled monitors are defined by Windows as physically disconnected.

What monitors you use and what interfaces you use to connect them to the computer (HDMI, DIC etc.)?


Best regards.
 
Top
pureehatred
Registered user
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 17.04.2020
Posted: 15.08.2022 05:40:42
 
 
Hello,

Doesnt work, have it turned on, might be outdated version tho.
Display is lg 34gn850-b as secondary display, on nvidia rtx 3070 gcard,

issues is 'Rapid Hot Plug Detect (Rapid HPD)' called by microsoft, but not sure if they implemented it and in what version.

secondary display:
lg 34gn850-b, on Display Port

my OS:
windows 10 pro
21H2
os build: 19044.1865

actual multiple monitos
ver 8.14.5
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 21.08.2022 11:06:16
 
 
pureehatred,

Quote
issues is 'Rapid Hot Plug Detect (Rapid HPD)' called by microsoft
Yes, we're aware of such type of problems. For now it's not clear whether the fix described in the article has been implemented. Some users still report the similar problems.

Do I understand correctly that you use two lg 34gn850-b displays and use DisplayPort to connect both of them?

Could you send us your Actual Multiple Monitors configuration files using the Send to Tech Support tool (AMM configuration module > Tools > Configuration > Send to Tech Support)? Then reproduce the problem, re-open the configuration module (it's important to close it and open again) and send the configuration files one more time?


Best regards.
 
Top
pureehatred
Registered user
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 17.04.2020
Posted: 29.08.2022 15:45:43
 
 
Hi,

I have just email you configuration files, first one is when computer starts, and last one is after issue appeared.

Quote
Do I understand correctly that you use two lg 34gn850-b displays and use DisplayPort to connect both of them?
No, 34lg is my secondary display, my main one is standard dell ultrasharp u24 something.


Anyway, when I start PC, after few initial display going to sleep, and back again, it comes back as it was supposed, but then it stops working, and all windows are just on main screen.
I found this tool MonitorKeeper to work pretty well, it works for some period of time and then starts bugging a bit, and it often causes reordering of windows in taskbar. Also it has issue when using scale other then 100%, it re-scale windows to another 125% lets say everytime, might be cause of your feature 'fit target monitor'

if you need anything more, let me know
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 17.09.2022 08:55:56
 
 
Hello, pureehatred

Thank you for providing the information. We've analyzed the configuration files and it's still not clear why the feature doesn't work.

Could you enable the "Collect usage statistics" option of AMM (AMM configuration module > Options > General > Collect usage statistics). Then temporarily disable the MonitorKeeper program and try to make the problem appear while AMM is running (or wait until it starts within your usual workflow). When the problem starts, reproduce it two more times. Write down the approximate time of each occurrence of the problem (the moment when you enable the monitors and the windows placement is not restored). Then navigate to %appdata%\Actual Tools\Actual Multiple Monitors folder and find the file CenterEvents.log. Send this file and the time marks of the occurrences of the problem to support@actualtools.com.
 
Top
pureehatred
Registered user
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 17.04.2020
Posted: 18.09.2022 23:53:32
 
 
Hello,

just emailed you centerevents.log file

hope it will help,


in brief, this is what happens

2022-09-18 18:18:59.676;amm;8.14.5;ControlCenter;Scaler;StartSaveWindowLayoutTimer;Config
2022-09-18 18:19:04.942;amm;8.14.5;00007BB0;000087BC;DefaultWindowRule;Notepad;003918EE;TWindowExtender;AttachWindow;-
2022-09-18 18:19:06.494;amm;8.14.5;00007BB0;000087BC;DefaultWindowRule;Notepad;003918EE;TSnapWindowAction;SNAPBORDER_OFF;WM_EXITSIZEMOVE.ToDivider;-
2022-09-18 18:41:36.682;amm;8.14.5;ControlCenter;Scaler;RestoreWindowLayout;[(1920,0,5360,1440)-(0,0,1920,1080)];Skipping;Repeated restoration request
2022-09-18 18:41:36.688;amm;8.14.5;ControlCenter;Scaler;StartSaveWindowLayoutTimer;Resolution changed


thank you
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 26.10.2022 10:25:13
 
 
pureehatred,

I apologize for the delay in replying to you.

Could you try to disable the option "Restore only when monitors get connected or disconnected" of the "Bind the layout..." feature and see whether the feature works in this case (Actual Tools program configuration module > Layout and Snap > Windows Layout > Bind the layout... > Restore only when monitors get connected or disconnected).

Also, could you do some test to make sure the displays (or one of them) are disconnected from the system when turned off? Turn off the secondary monitor via its power button, wait for couple of minutes, open the Windows display settings using the other monitor and see whether the secondary display persists in the settings. Do the same test for the main monitor and let us know the results.


Best regards.
 
Top
pureehatred
Registered user
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 17.04.2020
Posted: 26.10.2022 11:49:25
 
 
Hi

Disabled option, same happening

when i turn off display, its not show in display settings, either it is main or secondary screen.

but here is something that might interest you
when I turn off second screen, once I turn it on again, all windows rearrange where they were previously, but if pc goes into sleep, then it fails all windows are on main screen.
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register