Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Topic: «Features for a long time user , Monitor sides use relative mouse pixels, different resolution fixes, new defaults and more » on forum: Feature Requests   Views: 14437

Martin Spierings

Posted: 03/12/2019 05:37:47

So I've been using AMM and AWM for a few years now and thought it was time to put in a few Feature Requests. Stuff that has either been bugging me about AMM or Windows that I think we can improve on.

So here goes:

Different resolutions:
1) When using a monitor that has a different resolution (like 2x 1080p and 1x 4k, you run into the problem that one monitor can trap the mouse. Having a relative and not absolute handling of the mouse when you move fr om one monitor to the other, will make it easier to drag windows, and give better expectations where it will end up when you move it across. Right now you can set in windows where the monitor should be located and can drag windows up or down next to each other, but when you move a mouse in the point that is not connected, it will just remain stuck. When it is 1080p vs 4k, you have 50% of the monitor which can trap your mouse.

2) There are also some annoyances when windows have different resolutions on monitors that when moved makes it seem like there is no end to it. When dragging fr om 4k to 1080p, sometimes the window is 200% the size of the 1080p monitor, making it pretty unusable to see where I want to place it. I'm not sure if this can be done (probably relates to driver/windows) but some progress would be nice.

3) Related to the above but actually a bug: when a window is too small, it makes windows/AMM handle it wrongly and tries to do something over and over. Say a window is 100x100 pixels, drag that on the bigger monitor and it goes bad. I often have this with the File Explorer window and it makes the explorer.exe crash. I then need to resize it on a different monitor, before placing it on the other.

Gaming on one monitor: