Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «Put monitors to sleep and lock » on forum: General   Views: 1622
 
cliff neville
Advanced user
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 30.05.2012
Posted: 06.01.2016 02:28:41
 
 
I need to get up and leave my desk many times a day.  I can use win-L to lock it, but I would also love a keystroke or button to put the monitors to sleep.  Can Actual Tools do this?

I would like two cases

1. put monitors to sleep only
2. put monitors to sleep and lock the computer

The IT department said 'no' to nircmd.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 13.01.2016 00:58:38
 
 
Hello, Cliff

Do you want to put to sleep just the monitors or the whole system?

If you want to put to sleep the monitors, you can use the Save Idle Screens feature in combination with the standard Windows Blank screensaver.

Best regards.
 
Top
cliff neville
Advanced user
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 30.05.2012
Posted: 13.01.2016 02:32:25
 
 
I do not want the computer to go to sleep, only the monitors.  My first post has what I want.

1.
I want to put my screens to sleep so people walking by can't read my screens, but when I get back, just move the mouse and continue working (without login).  Sometimes I go to get a printout and end up being gone for 2 hours (talking or asked to help someone.)

2.
If I know I will be gone more than a couple minutes, like lunch, I want to lock and sleep the monitors (not sleep the computer).  

I have 4 monitors, if it matters, but I want to sleep them all together.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 13.01.2016 17:21:02
 
 
Use the mentioned Save Idle Screens feature for the first case.

For the second case i guess the native Lock the computer command fits perfectly.

Best regards.
 
Top
cliff neville
Advanced user
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 30.05.2012
Posted: 14.01.2016 10:11:58
 
 
The native lock does not sleep the screens.  You are not reading my words.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 20.01.2016 16:39:48
 
 
Cliff,

Have you tried to set the "Turn off display" option of the Power options so that your displays are disabled after some time from locking the screen?
 
Top
cliff neville
Advanced user
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 30.05.2012
Posted: 21.01.2016 05:20:49
 
 
Yes.  But I want them to go to sleep instantly, and I don't want to set/unset the sleep time to 1 minute, and obviously 1 minute is not going to work for a permanent setting.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2895
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 26.01.2016 14:00:30
 
 
Cliff,

Quote
I would like two cases ... 2. put monitors to sleep and lock the computer.
We'll consider implemenation of the feature that will disable monitors instantly on locking a computer.

Best regards.
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register