Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «Switching Monitors on Startup » on forum: General   Views: 7510
 
Arthur Black
Registered user

 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18.09.2010
Posted: 06.12.2010 23:45:36
 
 
When clicking the option to make a window start up on a specific monitor, it takes away the input focus from what I'm doing. It's incredibly frustrating if you have a fullscreen application that minimizes when the input is taken away from it. Is there anyway to *not* have it take away the focus from the current window?

Running Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
Actual Window Manager 7.1
 
Top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Posts: 2073
Joined: 09.11.2010
Posted: 03.02.2011 00:00:37
 
 
Hello Arthur,

What application do you have this issue with?

Best regards.
 
Top
Arthur Black
Registered user

 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18.09.2010
Posted: 03.02.2011 19:15:58
 
 
Every application I've tested it with. When AWM sends a window to another monitor on my computer, it immediately takes the focus away from what I was doing. If I don't set the switch monitor option at the beginning, then when the application opens up, the input focus remains unchanged.

Running Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
Actual Window Manager 7.1
 
Top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Posts: 2073
Joined: 09.11.2010
Posted: 04.02.2011 02:13:37
 
 
Hello Arthur,

Please try to use the "Ignore deactivation" option (Specific settings -> Startup tab) to these applications.

Best regards.
 
Top
Arthur Black
Registered user

 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18.09.2010
Posted: 06.02.2011 23:50:31
 
 
Why would I go to each individual application and set it to "Ignore Deactivation"? The ignore deactivation option doesn't work right as it is, as many applications are reliant on keyboard and mouse focus to perform certain tasks correctly. What I'm saying is if there's any way it can be set that whenever a window is opened up onto another monitor that it doesn't automatically grab all focus. Windows is treating the movement of the window by AWM as if someone literally dragged it and moved it, so if I'm typing something into Word and someone contacts me on IM, I start talking into the conversation box instead of typing into Word.

Running Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
Actual Window Manager 7.1
 
Top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Posts: 2073
Joined: 09.11.2010
Posted: 08.02.2011 23:51:41
 
 
Hello Arthur,

Thanks for the message.

We'll investigate it.

Best regards.
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register