Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Messages 1 - 10 of 12
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

Topic: «[FIXED] AWM 5.4 b2 bug » on forum: Beta Testing   Views: 21979
 
Mark Fuss
Registered user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 09.06.2009
Posted: 10.06.2009 08:41:41
 
 
I have been using AWM 5.4 beta 2 for two days and it keeps freezing up on me. The buttons on the top of the application windows no longer work, clicking on the taskbar icon does nothing, the hotkeys I set to switch desktops do not work. This all happens after the program has been running for about two hours. The only way to stop is to kill the process.
 
Top
David Lomas
Advanced user
 
Posts: 362
Joined: 16.03.2006
Posted: 10.06.2009 08:52:35
 
 
I can confirm I'm having exactly the same problem - variable on the timing (this morning is was only about 10 minutes), then its run fine for 5 hours, now its frozen again.

Another symptom (perhaps its just me) is that any taskbar icons on the secondary taskbar are shown again on the primary (so in effect, I can see two of them, although the ones on the secondary bar are completely non-functional).

Cheers,

Dave.
 
Top
David Lomas
Advanced user
 
Posts: 362
Joined: 16.03.2006
Posted: 10.06.2009 08:55:10
 
 
Update - the titlebar buttons still are still active for me - they 'click', change icon and do what they're supposed to.

But the systray icon for AWM is inoperative, and I can open the configuration window from either there or from a window's control menu. Other things (e.g. Rollup) work from the control menu though.

Hope that helps...
 
Top
Matt Rasmussen
Advanced user
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 25.05.2008
Posted: 10.06.2009 09:38:51
 
 
I have the same error, but I haven't noticed it's related to time.  Today just after I booted, it wasn't working, and had to close the process and restart.

When mine is locked up, virtual desktop keystrokes don't work, title bar buttons don't work, and if you hover over where the second monitor task bar should be, I get an hourglass.

Running XP SP3
 
Top
Alexander Belyakov
Administrator
 
Posts: 196
Joined: 07.06.2007
Posted: 10.06.2009 23:25:17
 
 
Thank you all for reporting this.

These hang-ups most likely relate to that newly added Window Thumbnails feature.
Could you please temporarily disable it in Options window, and then try to use the AWM without thumbnails?
 
Top
Mark Fuss
Registered user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 09.06.2009
Posted: 11.06.2009 07:02:06
 
 
I am still having the same issue with AWM freezing up even when I disable the Window Thumbnails feature.
 
Top
David Lomas
Advanced user
 
Posts: 362
Joined: 16.03.2006
Posted: 11.06.2009 13:17:38
 
 
And I've been using it all day today with thumbnails enabled, and not had a freeze-up - not sure if that's good or bad though...
 
Top
Matt Rasmussen
Advanced user
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 25.05.2008
Posted: 11.06.2009 17:22:00
 
 
I've also had it lock up after I've disabled thumbnail view.  This time when it locked up it changed virtual desktops and the virtual desktop name is still visible as I'm typing this email.
 
Top
Alexander Belyakov
Administrator
 
Posts: 196
Joined: 07.06.2007
Posted: 15.06.2009 01:44:15
 
 
I see.
Will try to hunt down this bug.
 
Top
Matt Rasmussen
Advanced user
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 25.05.2008
Posted: 17.06.2009 16:46:15
 
 
I've noticed that the last several times that the actual windows manager locked up that Microsoft outlook locked up too.  Both requiring a termination of the task from task manager.  No other program has locked up other than outlook.

Hope that helps a little...curious if others have noticed that as well.
 
Top

Messages 1 - 10 of 12
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register