Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «AWM forgot settings , AWM forgot settings, restore is not possible » on forum: Beta Testing   Views: 296
 
Tom Wolf
Registered user
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06.10.2016
Posted: 22.04.2019 22:53:27
 
 
Hi,

I'm using AWM 8.14 beta 3

Today all of my taskbar settings were gone and I had the default settings (icons and so on).
It was not the first time that this happens, so I have a backup of my settings.
Normally I'm able to restore these settings but this time I get an error message
"Cannot copy restored files to AppData\Roaming\Actual Tools\Actual Window Manager\"

What else can I try?

---

Edit:

Okay, I think I found out about the issue.
When I backup the settings to a local drive, everything works fine.
But as soon as I want to backup the settings to my NAS the zip seems not to be saved correctly and contains a dead file with the same name as the zip file was named.

This happens everytime.

Do you think you could take a look at this issue?
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 24.04.2019 01:42:09
 
 
Hello, Tom

Quote
Today all of my taskbar settings were gone and I had the default settings (icons and so on).
Were the only taskbar settings gone? Have the other AWM settings persisted?

Quote
It was not the first time that this happens, so I have a backup of my settings.
How often does it happen? When have you noticed it happened the first time?

Is it associated with turning monitors off and on?

Quote
But as soon as I want to backup the settings to my NAS the zip seems not to be saved correctly and contains a dead file with the same name as the zip file was named.
Is the NAS connected in your system as network drive?

Could you send us the backup .zip file saved to NAS to bogdan@actualtools.com?


Best regards.
 
Top
Tom Wolf
Registered user
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06.10.2016
Posted: 24.04.2019 17:30:22
 
 
Hi Bogdan,

yes, just the taskbar settings were gone. All of the other settings were fine.
I'm not sure about the quantity. But often enough to let me create backups monthly / after I changed something.
It happens randomly (I think) when I turn the PC on. I had this issue with older versions, too.
And yes, the NAS is connected as a network drive, so maybe AWM wants to write the file to fast?

I'm going to send you the corrupted backup.


Best regards

Tom
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 26.04.2019 16:26:06
 
 
Tom,

Could you tell what OS does the NAS have?

Are you running any security software in your system?

Is there a Windows shared net folder to which you can try to save the .zip file when creating the backup? Could you try to save the file to that folder and see whether the file has the same problem?

As for the taskbar settings problem: could you when the problem happens again, before restoring the settings, create a new backup file and then send us two backup files: the one you created before the problem happened and the other - after the problem happened. Send the files to bogdan@actualtools.com and add a link to this topic to the email.

Best regards.
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register