Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Topic: «"Standard" specific settings , Clarifications requested & some suggestions » on forum: Beta Testing   Views: 5935

Pim Joosten
Resident

Posted: 05/19/2012 02:55:06

For testing purposes I recently installed AWM 7.1 beta 2 fresh in a virtual machine. I noticed that you now include 13 standard specific settings of which 1 is not activated (Tablet PC Input Panel):
- Google Chrome;
- Microsoft Access;
- Microsoft Excel;
- Microsoft Outlook;
- Microsoft Outlook Notes;
- Microsoft Power Point;
- Microsoft Word;
- Mozilla Firefox;
- Mozilla Thunderbird;
- Opera;
- Skype;
- Tablet PC Input Panel;
- Windows Task Manager;

I never knew of these standard settings, because I have been using AWM for almost 2 years now and every time I upd ate AWM it keeps my current settings and does not add any new settings you have added. I would never have known if I did not install a test version in a VM today. When I originally installed AWM for the first time there was only 1 standard specific setting: Skype.

I do have some questions and suggestions about these standard specific settings.

1. It is not clear to me why you have included these settings. I assume you have made them because of (user) experiences, but as a user I have no idea why a particular setting is included as standard. It would be rather time consuming to look at these settings individually to discover why you have included it. I would however like to know that, because it could possibly prevent me from wasting lots of time if I ever wanted to make a specific setting for one of those programs myself.

2. I think it is a good idea to include the reason for including a standard specific setting on the tab Index > Description. I always use that field for every setting I make so that I know what I did. For Actual Tools it would be an efficient way of communicating the reason for and content of that specific setting.