Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «Actual tool center is the cause for lag spikes in gaming. » on forum: Beta Testing   Views: 7553
 
Ri mambs
Registered user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 23.04.2011
Posted: 27.02.2012 10:00:56
 
 
I've had some "lag spikes" in gaming lately. Today I wanted to pin-point the culprit. It seems that actual window manager is causing this.

The process "ActualWindowManagerCenter.exe" increases drastically every 10 seconds or so. Just take a look in task manager, you'll see that the process stays at 0.16% cpu (in my computer) and every 10 seconds or so it jump to 3.16% cpu (although still not very high, but it causes lag spikes in gaming).

I give you an example of an almost 10 year old game ut2004: normally you'd have a 90 avg all the time, but actual window manager causes it to drop to 70-88 for a second.

User added an image

Can't remember having this with a non-beta version.

running the most actual beta version.

 
Top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
-retired-
 
Posts: 2073
Joined: 09.11.2010
Posted: 27.02.2012 23:07:39
 
 
Hello Ri mambs,

Thanks for the post.

Quote
Can't remember having this with a non-beta version.
- What version of Actual Window Manager have you used before this beta version?

Could you check whether the problem persists in the 6.7.2 version of Actual Window Manager ( http://www.actualtools.com/files/aimsetup.exe )?

Are you running Windows 7 32 or 64-bit?

Best regards.
 
Top
Ri mambs
Registered user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 23.04.2011
Posted: 28.02.2012 04:52:39
 
 



In the videos you can see no jump in cpu at all and I'm running windows 7 64bit
 
Top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
-retired-
 
Posts: 2073
Joined: 09.11.2010
Posted: 29.02.2012 21:06:37
 
 
Hello Ri mambs,

Thanks for the videos.

Could you check whether disabling Desktop Divider, Virtual Desktops or Multi-Monitor Taskbar  features cause the problem disappearing?

Best regards.
 
Top
Ri mambs
Registered user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 23.04.2011
Posted: 01.03.2012 12:19:49
 
 
I do not run virtual deskopt.

Disable desktop divider didnt solve it
Disable the multi monitor taskbar feature did resolve the problem.

I hope you can do something about it because actual tools without multi monitor taskbar is unthinkable of.
 
Top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
-retired-
 
Posts: 2073
Joined: 09.11.2010
Posted: 01.03.2012 21:14:34
 
 
Hello Ri mambs,

Thanks for the response.

We'll try to fix this.

Best regards.
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register