Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Messages 1 - 10 of 11
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

Topic: «Window class+program+caption is in some cases not enough to differentiate 2 different windows » on forum: Feature Requests   Views: 343
 
technoid
Registered user
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 01.03.2018
Posted: 06.07.2019 07:35:28
 
 
Once a day I let Windows Live Mail automatically restart from a script so that the mail database is updated before another script starts a backup. Sometimes I get a notification window that a file is in use and I have to confirm it by clicking the OK button or press Enter otherwise Live Mail won't close. I let AWM press enter. But if there is an error with Pop3, I get a notification window with exactly the same class, the same program and the same caption and this window is also closed by AWM. Therefore the Pop3 error notification is missed.

Both windows have different sizes. It would be helpful when a window could also be detected by its size.

Thanks and best regards

-----------------------------------
OS: Windows 7 SP1 x64
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 06.07.2019 20:07:51
 
 
Hello, technoid

We'll consider adding some new criterion for target window options so that the program could distinguish windows even in situations like this.

We'll post in this topic if the feature is implemented.


Best regards.
 
Top
technoid
Registered user
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 01.03.2018
Posted: 06.07.2019 22:41:14
 
 
Thank you very much, Bogdan.

-----------------------------------
OS: Windows 7 SP1 x64
 
Top
MGhell
Advanced user
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 15.11.2008
Posted: 14.07.2019 17:49:06
 
 
I requested that many years ago. There's a program called RTVRECO which allows to add text which appears in the dialog itself in order to fine-tune the window to which an action is applied to:

http://rtvsoft.com/RtvReco.htm

I have that installed for cases in which AWM can't be fine-tuned and hence doesn't work properly.

System:
DUAL WIN7 (32bit)/WIN10 PRO (64bit)
CPU Q9550S
4GB RAM
Nvidia 460GTX
 
Top
technoid
Registered user
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 01.03.2018
Posted: 14.07.2019 22:36:56
 
 
Hm, I tested RTVReco with the Windows editor and the calculator, but it didn't recognize any of these windows. I tried everything (even Windows class only), but it just doesn't work.

Edit: I tried it again and it only works with "use timer polling" with "enumeration method". "Find window method" or "hook polling" doesn't work.

-----------------------------------
OS: Windows 7 SP1 x64
 
Top
MGhell
Advanced user
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 15.11.2008
Posted: 15.07.2019 12:09:39
 
 
Strange...I have hook polling enabled and it does work on my Win10 system

System:
DUAL WIN7 (32bit)/WIN10 PRO (64bit)
CPU Q9550S
4GB RAM
Nvidia 460GTX
 
Top
MainTrane
Registered user

 
Posts: 19
Joined: 02.02.2011
Posted: 23.09.2019 19:08:21
 
 
A good idea might be to combine several levels of class detection, i.e. verifying that a specific ancestor unique to the parent window is there. Looking at a unique handle could also serve adequate.

Windows 7 Pro (SP1) 64-bit
Actual Window manager 8.14.1
Intel Core i7-960 @ 3.2GHz
24GB (6x4GB) RAM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 26.09.2019 20:37:12
 
 
MainTrane,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We'll take into account your vote for this feature.


Best regards.
 
Top
MainTrane
Registered user

 
Posts: 19
Joined: 02.02.2011
Posted: 02.10.2019 07:37:10
 
 
Something I believe is adjunct to this issue, is the lack of an ability to specify a blank/missing field. Take for instance a distinct application/window that doesn't have a title, there currently isn't a way to explicitly single out that object by its lack of a caption-title. Choosing 'exact match' while leaving the 'window caption' field blank will still match every single window, instead of identifying a blank/missing caption. This should work in a more expected manner. If one wanted to match any possible caption they would simply untick the 'window caption' option, causing AWM to ignore that element.

Windows 7 Pro (SP1) 64-bit
Actual Window manager 8.14.1
Intel Core i7-960 @ 3.2GHz
24GB (6x4GB) RAM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
 
Top
Alex Fadeyev
Administrator

Moderator
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: 30.09.2005
Posted: 03.10.2019 08:55:29
 
 
Actually, there is no lack - just read this (posted 5 years ago  ;) ).
 
Top

Messages 1 - 10 of 11
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 2, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register