Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Topic: «Titlebar Buttons Feature Requests , I believe it is time to rethink how Titlebar Buttons are displayed. » on forum: Feature Requests   Views: 11442

Jim Fraley

Posted: 09/06/2018 09:07:22

I have been a happy Actual Window Manager customer for many years. However, I believe it is time to address the issues related to how Titlebar Buttons are displayed.

As more and more applications are using custom sizes for their titlebar, for example Chrome 69, the AWM titlebar buttons are increasingly becoming a problem to see and to correctly interact with. In addition to the issues with size and placement, dark icons on a dark theme are impossible to see.

I believe AWM should have a more robust system for managing titlebar buttons.

1. Titlebar Button skins should also be available per app, not just globally. Most of my apps use the default Windows 10 light theme. The default "black" AWM titlebar button skin is easy to see. However, I use a dark them in other apps, such as Google Chrome. The "black" AWM titlebar skin is impossible to see. I would like to set app-specific titlebar button skins per app.

2. In addition to global and per-app horizontal and vertical "shifting" settings, we need a way to scale the icons. Specifically, on apps like Chrome that reduce the size of the titlebar for their own use, the default titlebar button skin is too large. I realize that scaling bitmaps can get ugly, so maybe vector versions of the buttons/glyphs would enable a smoother scaling ability?

3. It would be nice to be able to adjust the inter-button spacing for the titlebar buttons. Some applications do not allow much horizontal space, so I might want to reduce the inter-button spacing on that app.