Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «[CONFIRMED] Problems with Tabbed Explorer » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 424
 
Max
Registered user
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 02.11.2019
Posted: 02.11.2019 17:45:15
 
 
Hi,

I'm testing Actual Tools Window Manager 8.14.2 on Windows 10 1903 as I'm looking for a tabbed explorer.
I like the implementation very much, because the original explorer windows are reused, which brings all additions from installed explorer addins.

But I have some problems with tabbed explorer:
1st) If the explorer window is partly in background behind another window and I click on some "white space" in the window, the explorer window will get the focus, but stay in background.
This wonn't happen, if I click on the title bar. Then the window will come to foreground as expected.

2nd) I use "Windows Virtual Desktops". If I have a tabbed explorer window open on "Desktop 1" and work on "Desktop 2" and open an explorer, the explorer window won't show up, but a switch to "Desktop 1", directly followed by a switch to "Desktop 2" will happen. If I want to switch back to "Desktop 1" in this situation, I will be switched back to "Desktop 2" automatically. This locks me to "Desktop 2", until I close the "invisible" explorer windows.

In this case, I'd like it best to open another Tabbed explorer on "Desktop 2" instead of witching back to "Desktop 2".

So at the moment, this tool is not usable for me. Could you have a look at this?

Kind regards
Max
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 13.11.2019 17:00:49
 
 
Hello, Max

Thank you for contacting us.

Quote
1st) If the explorer window is partly in background behind another window and I click on some "white space" in the window, the explorer window will get the focus, but stay in background.
This is a known problem. We'll try to fix it and will post in this topic when it's fixed.

Does it happen every time you try to bring the window to foreground or sometimes window moves to foreground even if you click the client area and not title bar?

Quote
2nd) I use "Windows Virtual Desktops". If I have a tabbed explorer window open on "Desktop 1" and work on "Desktop 2" and open an explorer, the explorer window won't show up, but a switch to "Desktop 1", directly followed by a switch to "Desktop 2" will happen.
This problem has been confirmed. We'll try to fix this problem and also consider implementing of behavior where new tabbed container appears on the virtual desktop instead of opening a new tab in the existing one on other desktop. We'll post in this topic if the problem is fixed and the feature is improved.

Have you considered using AWM virtual desktops? For now a new tabbed container won't appear automatically in AWM virtual desktop either, but if you detach a tab from an existing tabbed container so that you have two containers and move one of them to other virtual desktop, new explorer tabs will open in the container on that desktop. And at least you won't stuck in one desktop as it happens with Windows virtual desktops now.


Best regards.
 
Top
Max
Registered user
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 02.11.2019
Posted: 14.11.2019 02:54:24
 
 
Hi Bogdan,

Quote
Bogdan Polishchuk wrote:
Does it happen every time you try to bring the window to foreground or sometimes window moves to foreground even if you click the client area and not title bar?
After testing this a few times, I managed (somehow, but don't know how), that the window behaved as expected. But most of the time, the window will stay in background, if I click on the client area.
I can't reproduce the behavior.
But even if it works, after switching between the explorer and another window a few times, it stops working for no obvious reason.

Quote
This problem has been confirmed. We'll try to fix this problem and also consider implementing of behavior where new tabbed container appears on the virtual desktop instead of opening a new tab in the existing one on other desktop. We'll post in this topic if the problem is fixed and the feature is improved.
Thank you for looking into this.

Quote
Have you considered using AWM virtual desktops? For now a new tabbed container won't appear automatically in AWM virtual desktop either, but if you detach a tab from an existing tabbed container so that you have two containers and move one of them to other virtual desktop, new explorer tabs will open in the container on that desktop. And at least you won't stuck in one desktop as it happens with Windows virtual desktops now.
Actually I didn't. I was quite happy with the native Windows Virtual Desktops, so I disabled the Virtual Desktop feature of AWM. But I'll give it a try :)
 
Top
Max
Registered user
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 02.11.2019
Posted: 01.12.2019 17:29:53
 
 
Hi, I tried the Virtual Desktop feature of AWM, but I prefer the Windows built-in functionality. So, I'd prefer a solution, allowing me to stay with the Windows Virtual Desktops.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 02.12.2019 18:45:35
 
 
Max,

Quote
So, I'd prefer a solution, allowing me to stay with the Windows Virtual Desktops.
We have your request of the compatibility between Windows virtual desktops and the Tabbed Explorer feature in our database. We'll post here if it's implemented.


Best regards.
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register