Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Messages 1 - 10 of 12
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

Topic: «Sometimes Actual Multiple Monitors stuck and high CPU usage , CPU usage issue » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 978
 
Petr Vlacil
Advanced user
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 09.03.2014
Posted: 06.05.2019 01:47:30
 
 
Hello,

sometimes when I am using my laptop without external monitor, I see, that Actual Multiple Monitor using over 25% my CPU (I have i5 4210H) and I can't stop it in Control Panel (shortcut for open in it not working too) exit and pause button do nothing.
Only one solution is stop Actual Multiple Monitors in Task Manager.

Thank you in advance for some help.

I am using AMM on Windows 7 PRO x64bit
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 06.05.2019 17:53:06
 
 
Hello, Petr

What version of AMM are you running?

Quote
sometimes when I am using my laptop without external monitor
Do you mean the problem happens only when the external monitor is not connected? What external monitor you use and what interface you use to connect the monitor to the laptop (HDMI, DisplayPort etc.)? Do you use a USB video adapter or a docking station?

How often does it happen?

Have you noticed whether the problem is associated with some events in the system?

What exactly process of Actual Multiple Monitors has the highest CPU consumption (Task Manager > Processes tab)?

Could you next time the problem happens create dump file of the process: Task Manager > Processes tab > right click on the process in the list > Create dump file. The "Dumping process" window will appear, and when the file is created it will show the path to the file. Please, send this file to bogdan@actualtools.com.

Quote
and I can't stop it in Control Panel (shortcut for open in it not working too)
Are you talking about the AMM configuration module?


Best regards.
 
Top
Petr Vlacil
Advanced user
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 09.03.2014
Posted: 06.05.2019 20:19:16
 
 
I am using the latest Steam version of AMM (8.13.3) .

Yes, the problem is really often happen, when I unplug external monitor (via WIN + P windows menu of coarse) . In Task Manager I see ActualMultipleMonitorsCenter64.exe and this using 25% +- CPU.

I have VGA monitor plug into HDMI reduction (small black box https://2ecffd01e1ab3e9383f0-07db7b9624bbdf022e3b5395236d5cf8.ssl.cf4.rackcdn.com/Product-800x800/2bdd6326-1f40-4a4f-beb0-5bf64a845241.jpg ) .

I think it's totally random when I unplug external monitor.

Ok next time I will create a dump file.
 
Top
Petr Vlacil
Advanced user
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 09.03.2014
Posted: 14.05.2019 23:47:22
 
 
Hello,

ok today it happened again. ActualMultipleMonitorsCenter.exe *32 start using 25% of CPU and keyboard shortcut stop working. And in control panel Exit or Pause buttons not responding too (I click on them, AMM control panel Not respond for a 15 seconds and then unfreeze) . But nothing happens.

Dumpfile I sent you to the email.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 16.05.2019 17:43:36
 
 
Petr,

Thank you for sending the dump file, we've checked it.

Do you use the Audio Switcher feature (AMM configuration module > Multiple Monitors > Audio Switcher > Enable Audio Switcher)? Could you disable the feature and see whether the problem still happens?


Best regards.
 
Top
Petr Vlacil
Advanced user
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 09.03.2014
Posted: 17.05.2019 06:55:52
 
 
Yes, I have two soundcards (integrated Realtek HD and external USB Sound Blaster Play) , and sometimes I change default soundcard for some apps via this new feature (Audio Switcher) . For example on Winamp or internet browsers (Palemoon and Firefox) .
Ok, so I will try disable Audio Switcher and then I write results.
 
Top
Petr Vlacil
Advanced user
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 09.03.2014
Posted: 20.05.2019 23:08:09
 
 
It seems to be working now without Audio Switcher. So, this issue is in the AMM? CPU is stable now and ActualMultipleMonitorsCenter.exe *32 not using too much % of CPU.
But this is totally random, so I don't know if this really helped or not.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 24.05.2019 02:51:58
 
 
Petr,

We suppose that the problem is associated with the Audio Switcher feature, but we can't be totally sure. If this problem appeared rare previously, then run the program for some more time with the Audio Switcher feature disabled to make sure the problem doesn't persist. Then enable the feature and see how soon the problem appears to make sure it's associated with the Audio Switcher feature. Let us know the results.


Best regards.
 
Top
Petr Vlacil
Advanced user
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 09.03.2014
Posted: 25.07.2019 17:48:26
 
 
I switched on SSD last month, and I don't have this issue yet. So I don't know where was the problem. But for now, is fixed.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 27.07.2019 15:31:51
 
 
Hello, Petr

Thank you for sharing this information. Do you mean, you've reinstalled the system? Are you running the same version of Windows Windows Windows – 7 PRO x64bit?


Best regards.
 
Top

Messages 1 - 10 of 12
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 2, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register