Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Messages 1 - 10 of 16
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

Topic: «Tabbed Explorer Error » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 633
 
Chris Miller
Advanced user
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 02.08.2011
Posted: 03.10.2017 19:34:28
 
 
I have an issue I'd like to report.  This is/was an issue with both 8.11.1 and 8.11.2 on Windows 10.  I have not had this issue on either version on Windows 7 64bit.

I open Explorer (AWM TAB enabled) and move it to a secondary monitor.  Right-click the icon and PIN it.  If I click the icon I get the following error:

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\System Too...
"This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action.  Please install a program or, if one is already installed, create an association in the Default Programs control panel."

I have tried unPINing and re-PINing the application with no fix.
I can right-click the icon and use one of the PINed locations successfully.
The explorer icon on the PRIMARY desktop (Windows task bar) always works.

Thanks,
Chris
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 04.10.2017 14:34:46
 
 
Hello, Chris

I was unable to reproduce the issue.

Could you name the exact number of your Windows 10 build (type winver in the Search field of the Windows Start menu, press Enter. The Window containing the build number will appear).

Best regards.
 
Top
Chris Miller
Advanced user
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 02.08.2011
Posted: 04.10.2017 18:05:56
 
 
Windows 10 Enterprise
Version 1703 (OS Build 15063.632)
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 04.10.2017 22:29:40
 
 
Chris,

Could you pin the Explorer when "Group Explorer windows within tabbed containers" option is enabled, then disable the option, apply the change and click the pinned icon. Does the error appear in this case?

Also please see if the error appears if the Explorer was pinned to AWM taskbar when the "Group Explorer windows within tabbed containers" option was disabled?
 
Top
Chris Miller
Advanced user
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 02.08.2011
Posted: 05.10.2017 18:51:53
 
 
I tried unpinning and pinning with and without "Group Explorer windows within tabbed containers" option, both on the AWM taskbar, as well as the system taskbar.

The problem is consistent.  In all cases the AWM taskbar fails, and in all cases the Windows taskbar succeeds.
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 06.10.2017 02:26:24
 
 
Chris,

Could you add shortcut for explorer.exe on the desktop, then pin Explorer to AWM taskbar and see whether the problem still persists?
 
Top
Chris Miller
Advanced user
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 02.08.2011
Posted: 06.10.2017 18:59:54
 
 
I unpinned current Explorer.  Created new shortcut on desktop to c:\windows\explorer.exe and pinned to taskbar.  Same issue, same error.
 
Top
Chris Miller
Advanced user
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 02.08.2011
Posted: 06.10.2017 19:02:26
 
 
I finally got a chance to try this at home and had no issues pinning Explorer and opening it on any monitor, vai the AWM taskbar.

What can I do to troubleshoot/reset whatever could be causing this on my work PC?
 
Top
Bogdan Polishchuk
Administrator
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: 04.04.2012
Posted: 11.10.2017 15:20:15
 
 
Chris,

Could you go to %appdata% folder (enter %appdata% in the explorer address bar, press enter. It will open the folder with this type of address C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming) and see whether any of these sub-folders in your system exists:

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\System Tools
(the one specified in the error message)

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories\System Tools
(the standard location of the System Tools folder in Windows 7).

Let us know the exact path to System Tools folder in your system.

If the first folder doesn't exist, could you try to copy the System Tools folder with all shortcuts in it to the Programs directory and see whether it solves the issue.
 
Top
Chris Miller
Advanced user
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 02.08.2011
Posted: 11.10.2017 19:26:43
 
 
C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
Exists.

.....\System Tools
and
.....\Accessories
Do NOT exist.

I can't find a 'System Tools' path on my work laptop or on my PC at home.  Do you have a reference point of where you think it "should" be?

Chris
 
Top

Messages 1 - 10 of 16
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register