Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register


Topic: «[FIXED]Window rule for vncviewer.exe doesn't recognize window on start » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 9051
 
Ernst Fueloep
Registered user
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 12.09.2006
Posted: 12.09.2006 04:51:31
 
 
I have created a Window rule in AWM 4.1 for vncviewer.exe. To only apply this windows rule to a certain connection I added the name of the target system (as it appears on the vncviewer.exe window title) to Window caption and selected "Substring match".

But AWM doesn't recognize the vncviewer window right after I start it. I have to manually cklick on the window menu and select "Manage Window Rule -> Re-apply Window Rule" and then AWM does what I want it to do.

Now, why doesn't AWM originally apply the window rule to the vncviewer window?
If it cannot do this for whatever reason, is it possible to add one button which has the function "Re-apply Window Rule" to the Title?  

Regards,
Ernst
 
Top
Alexey Fadeyev
Administrator

Moderator
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: 30.09.2005
Posted: 12.09.2006 05:15:39
 
 
The reason of this issue and its solution is described here.
 
Top
Ernst Fueloep
Registered user
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 12.09.2006
Posted: 15.09.2006 08:53:50
 
 
Yes, thanks, this is indeed fixed in the current beta version of AWM.

Regards,
Ernst
 
Top
Ernst Fueloep
Registered user
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 12.09.2006
Posted: 04.10.2006 01:51:52
 
 
Now I have installed beta 2 of AWM 4.2.
And now it no longer works.

When I open vncviewer and enter the password I see that the vncviewer window moves to the second monitor (that  is what I have defined in the windowrule for vncviewer) and almost instantly it moves back to the first monitor.

So, partially AWM does what it should do but for unknown reasons it decides not to do it.

Strangely, when I leave the vncviewer window open on the first monitor and open the AWM configuration and save it all window rules are applied and the vncviewer window moves to the second monitor exactly what AWM should have do when I started vncviewer but what AWM in beta 2 no longer does correctly.

Regards,
Ernst
 
Top
Alexey Fadeyev
Administrator

Moderator
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: 30.09.2005
Posted: 04.10.2006 09:43:06
 
 
In beta 2 we tried to modify some core mechanisms chasing the faster work but as the practice reveals we failed. :( We'll return the state of those mechanisms which was in 4.2 beta 1 so the release version should work normally again in your case.
 
Top
Alexey Fadeyev
Administrator

Moderator
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: 30.09.2005
Posted: 12.10.2006 05:00:43
 
 
Ernst, please could you check this issue with the just released version of AWM? Thanks.
 
Top
Ernst Fueloep
Registered user
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 12.09.2006
Posted: 13.10.2006 01:55:34
 
 
Alexey,

It works perfect now. Thank you for the release of AWM 4.2. You are doing a great job.
I really like AWM and cannot live without it!

Regards,
Ernst
 
Top


User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register