Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Topic: «AWM rule for Outlook reminders is also applied to other windows » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 11515

Pim Joosten
Resident

Posted: 10/18/2011 12:36:28

Hello Vasiliy,

I have been encountering this problem for many months already, but this morning I finally noticed the pattern and was able to reproduce it. So here it goes.

I am using AWM 6.7 beta 1, but it also happened on older versions of AWM. On my desktop I am using Vista Ultimate 64-bit and on my laptop Vista Ultimate 32-bit. The problem is present on both machines.

In Outlook 2007 I have made a rule for my Reminder window to minimize that window after 15 seconds of inactivity. That works, but it also works on other windows in some circumstances, where it should do nothing.

The specific settings for the Reminder window are:
- Window class: #32770
- Window caption: “Reminder” (substring match)
- Program: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office12\OUTLOOK.EXE

The only specific setting is Minimize Window Automatically after deactivation with a delay of 15 seconds.

The problem is that this setting also minimises task windows and e-mail windows after the same time setting for minimisation after deactivation. This happens only when a task or e-mail is opened from within Outlook (i.e. not activating them by clicking a button on the taskbar for an already opened item). Also must the Reminder window be open (there must be reminders), and that window must not yet be minimised automatically by AWM. In other words: it only happens when I open a task or e-mail from within Outlook right after the Reminder window appeared and within the time delay entered for Minimize Window Automatically after deactivation. When I switch off the reminder rule, the minimisation of these windows does not occur.