New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Messages 1 - 10 of 12
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last 

Topic: «[SOLVED]Multiple pinned icons with different runlevels » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 14255

Eric Walker

Posted: 08/21/2014 23:26:37

Hi,  I'm trying to setup something on the replacement primary taskbar (or secondary for that matter) that I can do with the regular windows 7 taskbar and am encountering some difficulty.

I'm a software developer and am forced to have admin privileges on my machine by policy, so I sometimes need to run my development tools (VB6/VS2010 etc) with different privilege levels.  I found a good way to do so using runas and on the normal Win7 taskbar have multiple pinned icons for each runlevel of my dev tools.

My difficulty lies in trying to create the same setup on the extended taskbar or replacement primary taskbar.  Since there's no shell extension to pin items to the Actual Multiple Monitors taskbars from windows explorer, I have to pin items once they're actually running, but if I run two of the same app with different privilege levels, I only get the option to un-pin the window with the different privilege level.  

I've found a work-around in pinning the different privilege levels to each separate taskbar, but I'd prefer to have the different icons side-by-side (and I'm perfectly fine with the grouping issues this setup causes, since there is no difference in the executables themselves, they all get grouped under a single pinned icon, but with aero-peek enabled I can see the window titles in preview and tell which privilege level I'm switching to)

Is there anyway to do this?

Thanks in advance,
Eric

Alexander Mihalkin
Administrator

-retired-

Posted: 08/25/2014 15:04:50

Dear Eric,

thank you for your post!

At first, could you please tell us how to do that with the native Windows taskbar?

Best regards.

support@actualtools.com

Eric Walker

Posted: 09/06/2014 01:28:58