Actual Tools
Actual Tools
 HOME 
 PRODUCTS 
 DOWNLOAD 
 ORDER 
 SUPPORT 
 RESOURCES 
 COMPANY 
Actual Tools
News is in RSS format News
Actual Tools / Forums / Technical Support
Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register

Messages 1 - 10 of 21
First | Prev. | 1 2 3 | Next | Last 

Topic: «Subwindows unavailable to AWM , Only main app window can be targeted » on forum: Technical Support   Views: 11812
 
TabSel
Advanced user
 
Total messages: 155
Registration date: 15.10.2011
Created: 18.10.2011 02:07:42
 
 
Don't know wether this is caused by the app itself:

I use Cubase. The main app window can be targeted by AWM. However, all child windows can't be targeted: when I drag the target window cross-hair icon to a child window, AWM always targets the apps' main window...

Am I doing something wrong?
 
Back to top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Total messages: 1455
Registration date: 09.11.2010
Created: 19.10.2011 02:29:41
 
 
Hello TabSel,

Thanks for the post.

What version of Cubase do you use?

Are you writing about MDI windows?

Best regards.
 
Back to top
TabSel
Advanced user
 
Total messages: 155
Registration date: 15.10.2011
Created: 19.10.2011 04:02:44
 
 
Hello Vasiliy,

thanks for jumping in.

Its Cubase 6 x64 on Win7prof x64.

I don't know if they are MDI windows technically, they rather seem to be like amodal dialog boxes, like the "VST Instrument Rack", the "Mixers", the "Channel Edit" windows. They only have this "red cross close button with and without AWM, can be put to "allways on top" by Cubase internally, in which case there titlebar shrinks and they float above the Cubase Main Window...

I could not find Win Handles with a tool I used yesterday...

BTW, I stumbled upon a "target window cross-hair icon drag" issue:

Some Applications make some of their child windows invisible, when the App doesn't have focus, so does Cubase at least. (There's a floating VST CPU meter window, and a floating "generic remote" window, the floating "transport panel"...
(I saw their handles with the mentioned tool, but their state always is "invisible" when I watched the tool, as Cubase doesn't have the focus)

Now, when I drag the target window cross hair icon, AWM has focus, these Cubase windows get invisible, and I can't drop the icon onto these windows...

Would it be possible to have a windows setting like "automatically gain focus when mouse hovered over window"? Or is there already?
 
Back to top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Total messages: 1455
Registration date: 09.11.2010
Created: 19.10.2011 23:55:09
 
 
Hello TabSel,

Thanks for the response.

We'll insvestigate the issue with Cubase 6 subwindows.

Quote
Now, when I drag the target window cross hair icon, AWM has focus, these Cubase windows get invisible, and I can't drop the icon onto these windows...
Would it be possible to have a windows setting like "automatically gain focus when mouse hovered over window"? Or is there already?

- You could use the "Select Window from List" option (Actual Window Manager -> Window Settings -> Specific settings -> Target Window tab -> Select Window from List) or you could use the "Logging" option to find these windows (Actual Window Manager tray icon context menu -> Logging).

Best regards.
 
Back to top
TabSel
Advanced user
 
Total messages: 155
Registration date: 15.10.2011
Created: 20.10.2011 00:14:14
 
 
Using "sel ect window fr list" will result in AWM having focus and cubases' windows invisible and not shown in AWMs list?

Will try logging though, thanks.

And thanks for looking into cubases child window issues!
 
Back to top
TabSel
Advanced user
 
Total messages: 155
Registration date: 15.10.2011
Created: 22.11.2011 11:06:13
 
 
can you already say something about cubases subwindows?
 
Back to top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Total messages: 1455
Registration date: 09.11.2010
Created: 22.11.2011 23:13:50
 
 
Hello TabSel,

Quote
can you already say something about cubases subwindows?

- No, I can't.

Have you tried to use logging?

Best regards.
 
Back to top
TabSel
Advanced user
 
Total messages: 155
Registration date: 15.10.2011
Created: 24.11.2011 00:36:25
 
 
I tried logging, but none of cubases subwindows are recognized by the logger...
 
Back to top
Vasiliy Ivachev
Administrator
 
Total messages: 1455
Registration date: 09.11.2010
Created: 28.11.2011 02:43:38
 
 
Hello TabSel,

We can't get a trial version of Cubase 6.

Could you send me (support@actualtools.com) a screenshot of Cubase 6 with mentioned subwindows?

Best regards.
 
Back to top
TabSel
Advanced user
 
Total messages: 155
Registration date: 15.10.2011
Created: 20.02.2012 11:25:13
 
 
I sent you a screenshot...
 
Back to top

Messages 1 - 10 of 21
First | Prev. | 1 2 3 | Next | Last 

User(s) reading this topic
Number of guests: 1, registered members: 0, in total hidden: 0


Forums list
New topics
Topics list
Search
Help
Login
Register